Too Faced Born This Way Foundation – First Impressions

Queue music : 🎤 Ooh baby, I was born this way!

I can’t help but break into that song whenever I think of this foundation.  Hehehe. I had been itching to get a new foundation, as my beloved Tarte Amazonian Clay foundation was quickly running low. On a whim, I drove to Paradigm after work, and promptly waltzed into Sephora to ogle the foundations available.

TOO FACED Born This Way Foundation in Sand review and first impressions malaysia beauty blogger

I was torn between Kat von D’s Lock It Tattoo foundation and this Born This Way foundation by Too Faced. Tried them both, and loved how both looked on my face. The shade that I tried matched perfectly too. But alas, the KVD’s Lock It Tattoo foundation felt very heavy and thick for my liking right now. I went home with a brand new bottle of Born This Way foundation and was giddy as can be!

The foundation retails for RM152, has a medium to full coverage with an undetectable finish. It’s also oil-free and infused with coconut water, alpine rose and hyaluronic acid. As far as shade selection goes, our local Sephora stocks 10 colours – most of which lean more to warm and yellow tones. The shade I use is Sand. This foundation has a thicker liquid consistency – it’s not as runny L’oreal’s Lucent Magique, or Urban Decay’s Naked Skin.

TOO FACED Born This Way Foundation in Sand review and first impressions malaysia beauty blogger

Let’s talk coverage. This foundation is marketed as a medium to full coverage. After trying it on, I can definitely agree to this – the foundation gave a good amount of coverage, and concealed discolourations and scarring on my face. But there was this one pesky spot that could not be concealed when I tried it on for the first time. That thing was a nightmare! It’s been on my face since months ago, and it is still there! Thankfully, it is beginning to fade slightly. Lesson of the day : Don’t pick and prod your pimples.

The undetectable finish it claims to have though, is up for debate. I can see what they imply by that, the foundation not only feels very light (almost undetectable. ha!) it also looks really natural and skin-like. No matter how natural-looking a foundation is, it will still look like makeup and be apparent on your face – at least to someone who wears / knows about makeup. To some, the foundation has a radiant and almost dewy finish, but it looked matte on my face upon application.

TOO FACED Born This Way Foundation in Sand review and first impressions malaysia beauty bloggerTOO FACED Born This Way Foundation in Sand review and first impressions malaysia beauty bloggerFull face with Born This Way foundation

However, after several hours, it did look very luminous and dewy. I am very slap-dash with my makeup; I didn’t really take my time to set and powder after my foundation. I was definitely surprised by the glow, but it was nothing too crazy. It was most likely due to the cold a/c in the car ride to Penang, and then the hot and humid weather at the beach afterwards that attributed to that. Still, I thought it looked really nice and natural, not gross or oily at all.

TOO FACED Born This Way Foundation in Sand review and first impressions malaysia beauty bloggerRoughly 9 hours later

Even after playing at the beach and a total wear of +/- 9 hours, the foundation looked amazing! The foundation stayed really well on my face, was not blotchy and did not break down at all. My cheeks and nose doesn’t really hold foundation very well in super hot weather; so it was a pleasant surprise to see this foundation holding up so well – even when it is not marketed as a long-wearing formula.

All in all, I give this a big thumbs up! Great coverage, lightweight, perfect colour match, and long-wearing? What’s not to love?

Oh, I’ve used this foundation a lot more since the first impressions, and I’ve learned that if I take my time to really set it with powder after, the foundation will stay matte for at least 6 hours! So, if you’re kind of iffy on the foundation being too dewy, definitely try to set it with a bit more  powder and to really press it onto the skin 😉

xoxo

One thought on “Too Faced Born This Way Foundation – First Impressions

Leave a Reply

